img_3869

This past Saturday I had a long marathon training run. 18 miles and 3 hours later I finished feeling pretty good. I ran the last half of the actual marathon course plus some which was a dream. I started training for the NYC marathon again this year in hopes of living in NYC in time to train in NYC. There were a few miles along the way where tears welled up, good tears. I caught myself going back to the race last year and being in those actual spots again made me feel deep again.

Sidenote: I think everyone should run a race, do something crazy, push your limits; we need that experience.

Now, onto the real story. After my run I was feeling all jazzed and decided I wanted to start thinking into and planning my race day outfit. It matters. Good gear makes for a great race. I’ve been training non-stop in Lulu Lemon speed track shorts. They have a longer inseam (modest is hottest) and the ideal little side thigh pockets to hold all my things (larabar, subway card, house key, phone, etc). So I was thinking I wanted some crop calf length Lulu Lemon leggings for race day similar to the shorts version I swear by.

I am also seeking employment at the moment (my round about way of saying I’m unemployed), meaning I don’t have abounding finances right now. But a girl’s gotta run and she’s gotta run in good things. I probably have some running clothes I could have made work for race day, but how many marathons do you run in life, right? Well this is actually my second and its two more than I ever thought I would do. But marathons kind of evoke this everything-has-to-be-special sort of mentality, and I totally give in to it.

So, post long run I cleaned up and headed into the city to stroll through the Lulu Lemon on 5th Ave (which also happens to be their largest retail store in the U.S. *insert heart eyes*).  I walked in knowing I probably couldn’t buy anything that day, but I wanted to see what was out there. After gathering an arm full of things to try on, I headed to the dressing room. A sweet gentleman of a sale associate set me up in a room and said to ask away if I needed any further assistance. After trying on 6 different pairs of leggings, I found the perfect pair that was the right length (small miracle for a short gal) and they had the right pockets that would be ideal for race day. I needed them. So I gathered up the “no” pile, returned it to the awesome fitting room attendant and waltzed out of the dressing room with the dream leggings in hand. After about 10 steps outside the dressing room I thought, “But are these the right size?” I tried on the size I always wear in Lulu leggings, but for some reason I second guessed myself in the moment and thought maybe they were too tight. After all, I don’t want to be uncomfortable on race day. I want snug, but not too snug, definitely not loose. Once I start moving they need to stay put. Also, I can get this weird mentality while training for longer races that my body just turns into a big piece of swollen pasta/bread (whole grain, flourless and organic of course) since I eat a higher amount of carbs for running fuel. But honestly I am the same size I always am, oh those mind games. Also, since I could potentially drop a chunk of change on these leggings (Lulu prices are worth it for the product in my opinion), I thought I better try on the next size up just to make sure. I grabbed the next size up and the size I originally tried on and headed back to the fitting room. The kind sales associate set me up in a dressing room again and I asked his opinion on sizing and fit. He asked what I was getting them for, I mentioned the marathon, and he gave this educated thoughts then sent me in.

A few minutes into my second round of trying on these leggings I heard a little knock on my fitting room door. It was the sales associate who had been helping me. He said he had brought another sales associate who was actually training and running the NYC marathon next month too. I opened the door and had a delightful conversation with this girl. It was her first marathon. I told her I was no expert either, but we swopped training stories and thoughts and gear preferences. It was great. We came to a conclusion on the leggings and I went with the size I had originally tried on. I came out of the dressing room feeling happy and helped. It was nice to connect with strangers and talk similar interests and thoughts.

So now I was really committed. Had to get these leggings. The two sales associates were so patient and helpful. I owed it to their paychecks to spend some money in that store. But then I thought to myself, I guess I could just come back in a few weeks, maybe I can save up some money and come get them. But I know from past shopping fails, they would surely be gone or they wouldn’t have my size anymore and I’d be stuck with a less wonderful option closer to the race. I can easily have a now or never mentality, and so it was in this instance. I was getting these leggings now or never. So I confidently made my way to the checkout.

I noticed another Lulu Lemon employee following me from the fitting room to the checkout. She was keeping her eye on me. I wondered why, but just kept going. I got to the front of the checkout line and the sales associate behind the register with whom I had not interacted with yet said, “So are you the one running the marathon?”, and I somewhat sheepishly replied, “Oh, yes, thats me!”, and he said, “Well that’s amazing.” Right about the time he finished that statement, the employee who followed me from the fitting room to the checkout stepped behind the register and said, “Yes, the marathon runner! We want to give you these leggings. Way to go and good luck from us. You are awesome!” It was like a scene from a movie. And then I wondered if I was getting punk’d. I replied with a blank stare as tears welled up in my eyes and all I could get out of my mouth was, “Really?!” They bagged up the leggings and sent me out as a Lulu Lemon sponsored runner of the 2016 NYC marathon. I floated out of the store, wiping away a few tears. I just wanted to grapevine down 5th Ave proclaiming the kindness of others and the goodness of God.

I’d like to think of these leggings as a little miracle. Not only were the employees in Lulu Lemon some of the kindest, most intentional and thoughtful workers I had ever encountered in a store, I also just think God really sees and knows us. In the mundane and seemingly unspiritual things, He is showing up. He is making Himself known and relating to us. God cares about my race day outfit and my paycheck-less self.

You better believe those leggings will forever be a testimony in my mind. I’m never getting rid of them. If they get too worn out to be used as leggings, heck I’ll make fabric bookmarks for my bible out of them or something. Those leggings to me are a little picture of the goodness of God in the land of the living (Psalm 27:13).

I could have easily gone in to the store, zoned out, found some leggings, bought them and walk right back out without one word to anyone else. Focus is one of my strengths. I typically know what I want and what I am doing. But in that moment, I’m thankful I second guessed and asked others thoughts. Cue “There Can Be Miracles” from the Prince of Egypt soundtrack.

One thought on “miracle leggings

Leave a comment